Nautical Megan Dress

I made a sleeveless version of the Megan dress from Love at First Stitch by Tilly and the Buttons. The top is made from an organic striped jersey I had in my stash for a long time. The skirt is made from a double knit fabric I bought for this project.

I reduced the neckline and armhole (the upper part, not where the armpit is) by 0,5 cm on my pattern – I wasn’t sure if that was ok because somewhere I had read that if you change a pattern’s neckline too much you also have to alter the bodice. So I’m very pleased that it worked out well.

The back neckline stands a little off where the top of the zip is – maybe I should have lined the zip or topstiched the fabric on the left and right side of it? Actually I don’t dare to try this because I don’t want to ruin the fabric. Anyway, I don’t mind this little imperfection.

Anchor buttons, striped bodice and navy blue skirt make a perfect nautical 60s summer dress and I think the fit is really flattering. I will definitely make more Megan dresses in the near future.

Megandress front  Megan dress side  Megan Dress back 

Leave a Reply

