Polka Dot Sorbetto Top

So here’s my first blog post! I wanted to start this blog ages ago, but never took the time to do so.

At the moment I sew lots of summer clothes because I moved from northern Germany to Catalonia last year and recently found that my wardrobe is not appropriate for the heat we are facing for about two months now… πŸ˜€ So I’ll post more of my summer makes soon!

I made a breezy top from the Sorbetto pattern which you can download for free from Colette Pattern’s website. The top has a straight, 60s inspired cut, a pleat on front and is finished with bias tape. It was the first time I sewed bias tape to a garment and thanks to the easy to understand instructions of the pattern, it worked out quite fast.

Added a bow made from leftover bias tape to the pleat – it’s a little off-centre which I’d like to correct, although my boyfriend reassured me that no one will notice.

The fabric is a beautiful, lightweight Japanese cotton lawn, just perfect for summer tops and blouses. I had not expected it to be so delicate: finishing the seam allowance was annoying as the fabric frays very easily. I finished with zig-zag stitch which didn’t help so next time I work with a similar fabric, I might try to finish the seam allowance with a kind of binding or the like. Do you have any tricks to prevent cotton lawn from fraying? I’m curious to read about!

  

  

   

2 thoughts on “Polka Dot Sorbetto Top

  1. Great top and such beautiful fabric! The blue really compliments your hair colour.

    Some tips to prevent fabric from fraying:
    Cutting it on the bias works if the fabric isn’t loosely woven. It will prevent the long edges around the side seams from fraying, but will also make the entire fabric more drapey and in my experience all other edges (armholes and necklines) should be handeled with great care and stay-stitched as soon as possible as they tend to stretch out more easily.
    There’s also a product called fray-stop. I haven’t used it yet, but it’s a liquid that you apply to the edges of your fabric once it’s cut to prevent fraying.
    I always try to be extra careful with fabric that frays easily and not move it more than necessary.

    Oh, and if you don’t have a serger you can finish seams on tops like these with flat-felled or french seams. It takes a little more time but it looks very neat and is more durable than zig-zagged seams.

    Hope this helps πŸ™‚
    I have a beautiful but fray crazy rayon in my stash, ready to be made into a Sorbetto and I’ll definitely try out the fray stop on that one.

    Like

    1. Oh thank you, that’s sweet πŸ™‚

      And thank you for sharing your tips on preventing fabric from fraying! I’ll try French seams and flat-felled seams and I’ll also look for that anti-fraying spray. I still don’t dare to cut on the bias as I’m afraid of messing it up πŸ˜‰

      Like

Leave a Reply

